Our School – History of Ballinahinch National School
Ballinahinch National School was officially opened in 1906. The total number of pupils enrolled that year was 6, with all 6 being boys.
Nine years later in 1915 the first girls were added to the enrolment list, with 3 girls enrolled that year.
In 1942 we saw the closure of this school which is now our Community Hall in Ballinahinch. The closure of the old school led to the building and opening of our new school, the school grounds which we have today. It is a testament to the building techniques and tradespeople from times gone by that some of the rooms built back in 1942 still serve our school so well in sync with our modern developments.
In 1968 the school in Killoscully, now the parish hall in Killoscully, closed down and as a result all of the pupils attending school in Killoscully transferred to Ballinahinch National School.
In 1996 two new classrooms were built. Whilst these works were ongoing the school relocated to the old school in our community hall. These classrooms are currently being used by Mrs. Upton and Ms. Bourke’s Classes.
The most recent development in our school took place in 2017 when we had a state of the art and spacious classroom built. The classroom is full of light and the views out the windows of the rolling hills are beautiful regardless of the weather. This room is currently being used by Mr. McGrath’s fifth and sixth class.
Our current total enrolment for the school year 2018/19 is 123. These pupils enjoy a caring, fun and educational environment because of our wonderful staff members.
We currently have 5 mainstream class teachers, 2 special education teachers, 2 special needs assistants, our secretary Mary and our caretaker Dan. We look forward to creating our own history to add the wonderful list of events which have taken place in our brilliant school